whisper

I am joining with Lisa Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday. The goal is to write for five minutes about a word. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Today’s prompt is:

Crowd

I waited at the back, hoping the masses would dissipate sooner than later, hoping there was still time to make it in. The crowd around me almost made me nauseous and I wondered why I was here, what I was doing? Was this really worth it?

I waited and closed my eyes and I heard a whisper. There in the midst of the crowd I thought I could not escape, I heard His voice again. I was almost in disbelief at what I heard, yet desperate enough to believe He had spoken. He spoke to me, to me! Just when I thought it was the end, He spoke. In the midst of the multitude, His whisper awakened my heart again. In the midst of the crowd, His voice brought life to my soul and this was the beginning of the day I’d long been waiting for.

the LORD passed by, and a great and strong wind tore into the mountains and broke the rocks in pieces before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind; and after the wind an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake; and after the earthquake a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire; and after the fire a still small voice. 1 Kings 19:11-12

http://wp.me/p3vZRl-2s

Five Minute Friday

4 responses to “whisper

Leave a Reply

