home

I am joining with Lisa Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday. The goal is to write for five minutes about a word. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Today’s prompt is:

Belong

Feeling a part of someone else’s heart
Feeling a part of family
Feeling a part of something called home

Will I ever really belong?
Why does this place feel so foreign?
Why does my heart feel so far away?

I belong to a family and it is the family I’ve always waited for,
the family of G-d, the family that is part of a world to come.

I await patiently, or sometimes not so patiently, the restoration within,
the restoration without.

Will restoration mean I belong? Will restoration mean I’m finally home, safe, accepted, beloved?

As my heart ponders these concepts, I know the reality is tough and real and somewhere in between this world and the next.

Will the relationships, the “family,” the place and people to which I pour out my soul ever be where I truly belong?

I’d like to emphatically say, “yes,” yet I’ve come to realize this world is not my home.

The friends, family, places, people to which I give the most may very well give me nothing in return, and I wonder, how do I find where I belong? And how does my soul stay alive in the midst?

Then I hear a whisper, and I know I belong. There is one place I belong, and it’s deeply within the heart of my G-d, my Maker, my Creator, my Abba.

Finally I’ve found where I belong. My heart overflows just to know this place where shalom reigns. No matter what goes on all around, no matter what kind of persecution or hatred comes against me or against Israel, Your shalom still reigns.

http://wp.me/p3vZRl-38

Five Minute Friday

2 responses to “home

  • Tamara

    You interpretation of the word belong is beautiful.

  • Mia

    Dear Shannon
    When I think of the reason for man, to enjoy God and to bring Him glory, it is no wonder we cannot feel at home anywhere else but in Him. Yes, dear one, one day everything will be made new!
    Blessings XX
    Mia

Leave a Reply

