A Yom Kippur Prayer – day 4

Joining the 31 Day online writing challenge
with
http://write31days.com
and
http://katemotaung.com/31-days-2/31-days-of-five-minute-free-writes-link-up-here/

Every Day for Thirty-One Days
Abba’s Heartbeat for Israel

31 Days edit big

I’m veering off course today because it is Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement (Leviticus 16). The Jewish community in every place goes through prayers of repentance asking for forgiveness and atonement on this day every year. I am sharing a prayer of repentance and hope it will resonate and draw you nearer to G-d.

Forgive me for not trusting You
Forgive me for not coming to You on the basis of who You are
Forgive me for not obeying You
Forgive me for not getting up early to hear Your word
Forgive me for running about and busyness
Forgive me for not searching my heart and not searching Your word
but rather searching other’s words to satisfy my soul
Forgive me for doing the very thing I see as weakness and sin in others
Forgive me for trusting in my own ways instead of trusting in You
Forgive me Father, Forgive me Abba

Cleanse me from all unrighteousness, O God
Forgive me for aching for Your Kingdom without living it
Abba, please bridge this gap
Between my holy longing and Your great desire

Forgive me for pleasing myself instead of pleasing You
Forgive me for hatred in my heart and walking in the flesh
Instead of walking in the Spirit from whom I have life

May You find forgiveness and be written in the Book of Life today.

http://wp.me/p3vZRl-5p

Leave a Reply

