Extravagant G-d

I am joining with Kate Motaung for Five Minute Friday. The goal is to write for five minutes about a word. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Today’s prompt is:

Wait

FMF-Wait-600x600

Have you ever waited on the G-d who is outside of time? This G-d asks me, an impatient child of His who lives inside of days and hours and minutes, to wait. What an idea!

Wait on the Lord and you shall receive strength.

“But G-d, I need Your strength now to wait.”

“How about you wait and I’ll give you strength?”

“But G-d, I need it now. I need You to move now!”

The conversation between daughter and Abba ensues.

The G-d of all creation asks me to wait, and somehow I don’t think His request is enough. What an unimaginative stubborn little one I can be! He asks me to wait so that He can renew my strength. Yet I seem to think my inability to do what He asks is a valid argument to bring to the table with Him, the All-Knowing, completely sufficient, not lacking in anything King of the universe.

I am quite silly sometimes.

Yet His patience and love, and His simple delight in me and with me, because I’m willing to be in the conversation with Him, move Him. My willingness to talk with Him moves His heart. I move the heart of the G-d of all creation. Whaaaaatttt!? This is so awesome and amazing. This is so wild and crazy! Who could have or would have thought it up. No one, except Him. He made me and He made you. He provided a way for my heart and yours to be cleansed from all filthiness and every single thing that keeps us far from Him because He wanted us to be near to Him, to fellowship with Him, to be His children, His beloved, His friends.

This is astounding, confounding, and just plain breathtaking!

This is one small snapshot of the extravagant, abundant, beautiful, truly wonderful G-d we’ve been rescued by. Thank You Abba!

Breathe it in and have a wonderful Sabbath.

Shabbat Shalom to those who celebrate!

http://wp.me/p3vZRl-9C

Five-Minute-Friday-4-300x300

2 responses to “Extravagant G-d

Leave a Reply

