The Way of the Heart

I am joining with Kate Motaung for Five Minute Friday. The goal is to write for five minutes about a word. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Today’s prompt is:
Same

The Way of the Heart

man-beach-love-sand

The One whose voice is like thunder
Who causes the mountains to tremble
He is the same G-d who fashioned my being in His hands
and formed my heart with His breath

The way of G-d is the way of the heart
The way of the heart is the way of love
Your ways, O G-d, are filled with life

Abba, please tell me more about your ways,
your laws,
your statutes,
your commands

It’s easy to forget the mystery of the heart of the only good Father to draw us in. His desire for us is that we would be close to Him. The G-d of all creation, the Creator of you and me wants us near. The same One who made my heart and mind, who gave me the ability to love and feel, and to weep and stand in awe, He wants me close.

Yet He doesn’t just want me nearby. He wants me to turn toward Him and talk to Him. He wants me to tell Him about what I love and what I feel and why I’m weeping and why I’m afraid. He wants me to tell Him what moves my heart. He cares about what’s on my heart. As I tell Him all of these things I get to know Him more and I get to love Him more.

He is my Father and He loves it when I talk to Him. No one could have written a better story. No one could have created such a stunning path.

He made me. He knows me. He’s G-d and He’s perfect, yet He wants me close. He wants me near to Him. He wants to prove to me the goodness of His heart, the truth of who He is as Father.

The one and only Maker of heaven and earth is the same one who chooses to prove His love to you and me because He loves us that much.

He’s not waiting for the theologians to articulate a theology of how to be close to Him. He’s not waiting for the self-righteous ones to prove they’re worthy to be in His presence. He’s not waiting for the brilliant minds to concoct a plan to find the closest proximity to Him.

He’s not waiting for the clay to make a better way. He doesn’t need the clay. He’s the potter. He made us for His glory. Abba made us for Himself.

May we run into the heart of the Father
and begin to comprehend the incomprehensible
love of G-d
that we never deserved
and could not have earned

http://wp.me/p3vZRl-cM

8 responses to “The Way of the Heart

Leave a Reply

