More than You Can Ask, Think or Imagine, Little Girl

IMG_8278 - Version 2

Expect

Little girl sat on Abba’s lap overlooking the hills and the distant sea. Despite the reality that Abba had adopted her and that she was sitting with him right now, her heart was gripped with fear again. She had had a dream the night before that reminded her heart of all she had been through in the past. The fears little girl had struggled with and pushed down hard in order to not fall apart took hold of her heart afresh.

Abba knew little girl so well. He comprehended her fears and her struggles. He was filled with compassion for her.

“Little girl,” Abba said as he gained her attention, “do you remember when I came and got you and brought you home?”

“Yes, Abba, I remember,” little girl said timidly.

“Do you remember that day? Do you remember what we talked about and what you shared with me?”

Little girl pondered for a moment, hesitant to respond, “Ummm…do you mean when I couldn’t hardly look in your eyes and I told you that I was fine? When I burst into tears when you picked me up and held me. I cried so hard and I couldn’t stop crying. For some reason I felt safe enough to cry but I was still so afraid…so, so afraid. I thought you would be like all the other fathers and mothers, all the others that said they were my family.”

Tears began to form and fall one by one on little girl’s cheek as she remembered that day and began to feel a mixture of emotions. She remembered the deep fears she had struggled with for such a long time but she also felt the safety and stability Abba’s love had given her.

Little girl’s heart began to feel free again and the sentiments of the past washed away as the tears flowed. These were tears of joy.

Tears flowed down Abba’s cheeks as well as His heart connected with all that was happening in little girl. He was not distant and apprehensive about giving His love away. He was acquainted with little girl’s heart and all of her ways, “I love you, little girl, so, so much! Always remember this. I am always with you. I will always be with you. I will always be your Father.”

Shortlink for Sharing: http://wp.me/p3vZRl-lK

6 responses to “More than You Can Ask, Think or Imagine, Little Girl

Leave a Reply

